HomeUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Start of Turn/Powers/GK

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Exitus Acta Probat

avatar

Posts : 1062
Join date : 2011-05-02
Age : 48
Location : Dayton, Ohio

PostSubject: Start of Turn/Powers/GK   Wed May 04, 2011 4:09 pm

(stealing from my own blog, and expanding the response base)
Conundrum:

BRB FAQ:(units in reserves vs abilities)
Q: If a unit is in reserve, and it has an ability that occurs at
the start of a turn can they use that ability on the turn they
arrive? (p94)
A: No. Unless specifically stated otherwise.

GK Psychic Communion(reserve manipulation)
...This power is used at the beginning of the Grey Knights Movement Phase. If the psychic test is successful, you can modify any reserve rolls made this phase by by +1 or -1...

Okay, now this (kind of) smacks of lawyering, and may be answered somewhere I am not seeing, BUT...I am finding nothing in the rules that would prevent a GK IC with this power from manipulating his(or other units) reserve rolls while he is in reserve.

Beat me up if I am missing something obvious, or has already been discussed to death, but am I wrong?
Back to top Go down
http://exitusactaprobat1.blogspot.com/
Hand of Dume

avatar

Posts : 1581
Join date : 2010-06-19
Age : 47
Location : Wastelands of Miami County... ie Tipp City

PostSubject: Re: Start of Turn/Powers/GK   Wed May 04, 2011 7:00 pm

I'm not seeing in your description anywhere that says THIS is an exception to the BRB rule. I would say, IMO of course, that the IC with the ability would already have to be on the table.

_________________
MARTIAL LAW- FTW

Let's just play the friggin' game and have some fun!
Back to top Go down
Exitus Acta Probat

avatar

Posts : 1062
Join date : 2011-05-02
Age : 48
Location : Dayton, Ohio

PostSubject: Re: Start of Turn/Powers/GK   Wed May 04, 2011 8:11 pm

Sorry,
to clarify...
there is actually no rule(that I can find, anywhere in the BRB) that states a unit must be on the battlefield in order to affect it.
We have precedents (that admittedly have been handled within their own codices...codii...whatever) that allow units to do so specifically...but were written without wording that allowed them to, and had to be FAQd to make it clear.
The only difference I am seeing with this p-power, and say the Astropath, is blanket vs active...so the question more becomes;
can you utilize a choice/dice driven ability/power off table?
Which is why my wording choice from the original post is...well, poor at best. More personal thought being thrown onto the webz.


Most people I've talked to have your same feeling...which has led me to step off trying it in games, and means I have no idea how it may be FAQd (and being utterly ignored would be the same answer as 'no' to me)...
but I'm still wondering, as this one is kinda new territory for powers...

Back to top Go down
http://exitusactaprobat1.blogspot.com/
Hand of Dume

avatar

Posts : 1581
Join date : 2010-06-19
Age : 47
Location : Wastelands of Miami County... ie Tipp City

PostSubject: Re: Start of Turn/Powers/GK   Wed May 04, 2011 10:30 pm

You could compare it to the Hive Commander ability and/or the ability for an Eldar Autarch ability "Master Strategist". The M.S. ability actually says the Autarch can be in reserve and it still works... but the Hive Commander ability doesn't state that the tyrant can be off the table and still work....

That's how I came to my conclusion.

_________________
MARTIAL LAW- FTW

Let's just play the friggin' game and have some fun!
Back to top Go down
Exitus Acta Probat

avatar

Posts : 1062
Join date : 2011-05-02
Age : 48
Location : Dayton, Ohio

PostSubject: Re: Start of Turn/Powers/GK   Thu May 05, 2011 6:17 am

Yeah,
and that's where it boils down to judgements. Precedent.

But GW has been...inconsistent with those in the past. Very Happy

I'm genuinely curious to see if it gets FAQd, as I cannot remember a rule that defines off board/on board interaction. On a case by case basis, we don't have a solid precedent. And none that specifically deals with more active(less passive) instances.
I'm as curious to see if it gets FAQd for setting an off board consensus as anything else.

Back to top Go down
http://exitusactaprobat1.blogspot.com/
Wayno

avatar

Posts : 755
Join date : 2010-06-19
Age : 44
Location : Somerset, KY

PostSubject: Re: Start of Turn/Powers/GK   Fri May 06, 2011 1:11 am

Exitus Acta Probat wrote:
But GW has been...inconsistent with those in the past.


Yes Indeed They Have!!!
Back to top Go down
Warmonger

avatar

Posts : 1840
Join date : 2010-06-20
Age : 53
Location : Springfield

PostSubject: Re: Start of Turn/Powers/GK   Fri May 06, 2011 9:23 pm

Since there is no specific precedence set for specifics (p-powers vs abilities, blanket vs active) and so on I believe you should step back and look at the larger picture. In a broader sense regardless of the situation it seems there is only one incidence where it is allowed and it is stated in the codex as such. Codex over-rules the BRB.

While it doesn't state in the BRB that you can't use these abilities while off the table, it doesn't say you can either. Until GW answers this, IMO you need to be on the board.

_________________
Martial Law-Salute
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Start of Turn/Powers/GK   

Back to top Go down
 
Start of Turn/Powers/GK
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» A WOMAN TRYING TO START HER CAR UNDER THE BACK SEATS!
» When exactly do we start dreaming?
» How did you start out as a medium?
» When did YOU start driving after surgery?
» Central Bank: restructuring of the Iraqi dinar will not start before 2013 or intention for the printing of new categories of cash

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Martial Law :: 40k Articles and Editorials-
Jump to: