HomeUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 BA Stormraven - opinion on weapons

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
dewen

avatar

Posts : 384
Join date : 2011-10-27
Age : 46
Location : Cincinnati/Dayton

PostSubject: BA Stormraven - opinion on weapons   Fri Aug 03, 2012 11:08 am

I am finally starting on the assembly of my Stormraven, which I got for Christmas Embarassed It is a really cool model. I am asking for input on the weapons. I may do magnets, but I get frustrated with working with them. I am looking forward to trying the flyer rules in 6th.

=========================================================
Stormraven Gunship 200 pts
Flyer, Hover, Transport (12 models and/or 1 Dreadnought)

Wargear:
TL Hvy Bolter
TL Assault Cannon
4x bloodstrike missiles (Range 72", S 8, AP 1, Heavy 1, One Use Only)
Ceramite plating

Options:
Replace TL Hvy Bolter
- TL Multi-melta ... free
- typhoon missile launcher ... +25pts

Replace TL assualt cannon
- TL plasma cannon ... free
- TL lascannon ... free

Side sponsons with hurricane bolters ... +30pts
=========================================================

It is obvious the TL heavy bolters get replaced. Do I go with the free TL multi-melta or pay for the long range missiles? Range may not be critical given the movement of flyers. The missiles do give you 2 shots. This piece appears difficult to magnetize. It is on the nose of the ship and swivels.

I will probably setup 2 weapon options on the turret. I just don't want to limit myself to one unless there is a clear winner. I am considering TL las and TL assault. Is it worth the trouble? Did I mention I hate magnets? Razz

I do not see the benefit in paying 30 pts for the hurricane bolters. Your thoughts?

My initial idea:
Stormraven Gunship 200pts
- typhoon missile launcher 25pts
- TL las cannons with a magnet to possibly use TL assualt cannons

Back to top Go down
Warmonger

avatar

Posts : 1840
Join date : 2010-06-20
Age : 53
Location : Springfield

PostSubject: Re: BA Stormraven - opinion on weapons   Fri Aug 03, 2012 5:49 pm

First impression is to take the TL Assault Cannon and TL Multi Melta.

_________________
Martial Law-Salute
Back to top Go down
Exitus Acta Probat

avatar

Posts : 1062
Join date : 2011-05-02
Age : 48
Location : Dayton, Ohio

PostSubject: Re: BA Stormraven - opinion on weapons   Fri Aug 03, 2012 6:18 pm

lascannon turret.
you can go either multi-melta (supports anti-hvy armour role, range less important for a flyer) or cyclone (supports range, and is superior for engaging other air targets due to ROF) for the hull.

Hurricane bolters are a waste. It is a delivery/fire support platform in an army starved for points efficiency when tuning, and they are expensive...even with snapfire+speed rules.

Spreading your weapon choices between roles diffuses the platform, and virtually anything you transport should be fully capable of handling infantry.

My current default loadout is Lascannon/MM, but I am uncertain if I will retain the MM over the cyclone for 6e.
Back to top Go down
http://exitusactaprobat1.blogspot.com/
dewen

avatar

Posts : 384
Join date : 2011-10-27
Age : 46
Location : Cincinnati/Dayton

PostSubject: Re: BA Stormraven - opinion on weapons   Fri Aug 03, 2012 7:38 pm

Great input so far. Thanks.

Typhoon Missile Launcher
- Frag 48" S 4 AP 6 Hvy 2, Blast
- Krak 48" S 8 AP 3 Hvy 2

MM 24" S 8 AP 1 Hvy 1, Melta

6e refresher
Melta 2d6 at half range
AP 1 when scoring a pen hit, +2 on vehicle damage
Back to top Go down
Exitus Acta Probat

avatar

Posts : 1062
Join date : 2011-05-02
Age : 48
Location : Dayton, Ohio

PostSubject: Re: BA Stormraven - opinion on weapons   Fri Aug 03, 2012 8:55 pm

dewen wrote:

6e refresher
Melta 2d6 at half range
AP 1 when scoring a pen hit, +2 on vehicle damage


Yup
Back to top Go down
http://exitusactaprobat1.blogspot.com/
Edge

avatar

Posts : 1428
Join date : 2010-06-20
Age : 43
Location : Centerville, OH

PostSubject: Re: BA Stormraven - opinion on weapons   Sun Aug 05, 2012 6:23 am

I've always run my BA Ravens as Gunboats...4x Missiles, Typhoon ML and Lascannon, EA.
Firesupport and distraction.

Sometimes they transport Troops (Scouts).

_________________
Declaring Martial Law - FTW
http://40k-edge.blogspot.com/
Back to top Go down
http://40k-edge.blogspot.com/
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: BA Stormraven - opinion on weapons   

Back to top Go down
 
BA Stormraven - opinion on weapons
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Who or what is god, in your opinion?
» Step 3: Choose your Weapons & Armor
» Us: Iraq has the right to buy weapons from any country and the car not the F16
» Knocked Back for Sleeve - Getting Second Opinion
» chemical weapons found in IRaq

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Martial Law :: Rules and other 40k Questions-
Jump to: