HomeUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Couple questions

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Drkmorals
Admin
avatar

Posts : 517
Join date : 2011-05-29
Age : 35

PostSubject: Couple questions   Sun Apr 07, 2013 11:22 am

So I am one of the guys who doesn't play 6th enough to know all the ins and outs of the rules so I propose some questions that came up in my last game with Josh to hear what my brothers think..


If you explode a vehicle or bastion and the guys inside take wounds.. do I allocate the wounds to different models or do I roll for wounds then remove what casualties I want?


When shooting across a Defense line unless you are right up on the line itself, does the enemy technically get the cover bonus as well for being obscured by a defense line? IE if you are a inch away from your defense line but I move up to a inch away from it do I get a 4 plus cover save as well? If you shoot across your defense line into my vehicle and its obscured by your own line because of TLOS do I get a 4plus?

When taking wounds from Barrage weapons you do everything from the center hole? Do you resolve each shot seperately then? (That is what we did) Because the closest model and cover would technically change per shot?

Josh pointed out I didn't put my PCS in my vendetta in the game, I have had people tell me I can't do this which way is it? Can I reserve parts of my blob because they are all treated as seperate units so I can reserve parts of it and deploy parts? Or do I have to deploy or reserve the entire thing? (I am a new guard player)
Back to top Go down
Warmonger

avatar

Posts : 1840
Join date : 2010-06-20
Age : 53
Location : Springfield

PostSubject: Re: Couple questions   Sun Apr 07, 2013 2:18 pm

DkM wrote:
Quote :

If you explode a vehicle or bastion and the guys inside take wounds.. do I allocate the wounds to different models or do I roll for wounds then remove what casualties I want?

I'm not sure what the rules say for sure, I think your supposed to randomize them but what I have seen in play is roll your saves and pick your casualties.

DkM wrote:
Quote :
When taking wounds from Barrage weapons you do everything from the center hole? Do you resolve each shot seperately then? (That is what we did) Because the closest model and cover would technically change per shot?

All wounds are figured from the center of the original pie plate with the exception of when any center hole falls on an IC for example that would be a separate wound on that model. Can you say sniper barrage!

_________________
Martial Law-Salute
Back to top Go down
Hand of Dume

avatar

Posts : 1581
Join date : 2010-06-19
Age : 47
Location : Wastelands of Miami County... ie Tipp City

PostSubject: Re: Couple questions   Sun Apr 07, 2013 10:53 pm

Says per page 80.... Effect of damage on passengers
'Resolve these as shooting hits, except the controlling player allocates any wounds caused.'

_________________
MARTIAL LAW- FTW

Let's just play the friggin' game and have some fun!
Back to top Go down
Drkmorals
Admin
avatar

Posts : 517
Join date : 2011-05-29
Age : 35

PostSubject: Re: Couple questions   Mon Apr 08, 2013 1:19 pm

I'm asking how I allocate though, if you do five wounds do I roll saves based on majority and remove models of my choosing? Do I roll a save per model ie 2plus for coteaz, then 3 plus for cannon then etc.. Or do I do it like shooting ie I can take 5 2plus saves on coteaz until he dies.
Back to top Go down
Warmonger

avatar

Posts : 1840
Join date : 2010-06-20
Age : 53
Location : Springfield

PostSubject: Re: Couple questions   Mon Apr 08, 2013 3:32 pm

You would start your armour saves and removing models starting with the closest model to the center of the pie plate. So if Cortez is in a unit and the pie plate lands and there is 3 henchmen between cortez and the blast. The henchmen would take wounds until they die and then Cortez takes them until he dies or the wound pool is exhausted. You could roll Cortez' wounds individually or roll to match his remaining wounds until the wound pool is empty, your choice. If they are instant death or he is on his last wound then roll seperately. As far as the cover saves you treat the whole unit the same depending on the 25% in cover rule, it goes by unit not model. The only exception would be if they were focus fired on. If there are actual difference in armour/invulnerable saves then roll them seperately. Wounds from additional pie plates from the same barrage are still resolved from the center of the original pie plate.


DkM wrote:
Quote :
Josh pointed out I didn't put my PCS in my vendetta in the game, I have had people tell me I can't do this which way is it? Can I reserve parts of my blob because they are all treated as seperate units so I can reserve parts of it and deploy parts? Or do I have to deploy or reserve the entire thing? (I am a new guard player)

You could in 5th ed. I haven't seen anything stateing otherwise.

_________________
Martial Law-Salute
Back to top Go down
Drkmorals
Admin
avatar

Posts : 517
Join date : 2011-05-29
Age : 35

PostSubject: Re: Couple questions   Mon Apr 08, 2013 4:51 pm

My last comment was about passengers not barrages my fault for not being clear
Back to top Go down
Warmonger

avatar

Posts : 1840
Join date : 2010-06-20
Age : 53
Location : Springfield

PostSubject: Re: Couple questions   Mon Apr 08, 2013 11:25 pm

I'm with ya now. It appears they are slightly different (vehicles and buildings). For exploding vehicles you would use the rules for mixed saves on page 15 and so Cortez could tank the wounds but has to continue once started until he is dead or the wound pool is empty and I don't think you can "Look out sir" them either as that is for shooting and assaults only.

Buildings would use the rules on page 94 "Wound Allocation & Occupying Units" ...allocates and resolves wounds one at a time to his unit, in the assumption that the most important members will be in the safest locations...suggesting that IC's/Characters would go after the grunts.

_________________
Martial Law-Salute
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Couple questions   

Back to top Go down
 
Couple questions
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» 'Flies in winter' questions
» Questions about Atlantis and Lumuria
» Lacson questions police helicopter purchase
» Our Earthly Questions About our Heavenly Home
» Additional optional questions for the round robin questionnaire and ideas lists

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Martial Law :: Rules and other 40k Questions-
Jump to: